Third election for District 28 scheduled for June

Well, voters in the state’s 28th District will once again go to the polls to select a representative. On Friday, Superior Court Judge David Sweat ordered a third election and also said State Representative Chris Erwin, who was sworn in in January after being declared the winner in the first two elections, must vacate the seat until the election has been conducted.

The election is scheduled for April 9.

Rep. Dan Gasaway was defeated by Erwin in the May 2018 primary and declared the winner since no Democrats qualified for the seat. Those results were thrown out by the court after Gasaway challenged the district’s mapping.

Erwin then narrowly defeated Gasaway in a Dec. 4 rerun election, taking the win by just two votes. Again, Gasaway sued to have the election overturned and again was successful in having the election nullified.

With Erwn being forced to step down and the 2019 Georgia legislative session scheduled to end in early April, those living in District 28 will not be represented during this year’s session.